Search

West Virginia State Income Tax

Our comprehensive guide talks about West Virginia tax laws. With sufficient knowledge, you can file your tax returns better. For example, the West Virginia tax offers property tax credits to eligible residents and doesn’t tax Social Security retirement income.
West Virginia State Income Tax
West Virginia State Income Tax
Want to know about West Virginia's tax system? Learn about the 6% sales tax and property tax benefits. Explore income tax variations ranging from 3% to 6.5%.
In this article

Most residents need help with paying taxes promptly. Local, state and federal taxes greatly dent their paycheck. But what are various taxes in West Virginia? A variety of taxes makes it more challenging to manage them. The state has relatively low taxes compared to other states in the country.

In West Virginia, there is a 6% statewide sales tax. A few cities collect 1% local taxes. Homeowners pay the country’s ninth-lowest effective property tax rate of about 0.55%. You can use the Beem Tax Calculator for a free and accurate federal and state tax refund estimate. It is essential to understand who has to pay how much tax. It depends on your income, your age, and many other factors. 

As one of the lowest property tax states in the country, West Virginia also has a state sales tax and a state income tax. Income tax brackets range from 3% to 6.5%. 

West Virginia residents pay an average property tax rate of merely 0.55%, the ninth-lowest rate in the country. Let’s take a closer look at state income taxation in West Virginia.

Does West Virginia Have a State Income Tax?

West Virginia requires its residents to pay taxes if their income source is from West Virginia. The sales tax in West Virginia is 6%, but the state income tax ranges from 3% to 6.50%. 

West Virginia’s state income tax bracket is less than 6%, but counties can set tax rates. And as the lowest West Virginia state income tax rate is 3%, workers with earning taxable income should pay a flat amount of 6.50% 

West Virginia provides many tax deductions and credits to reduce its taxpayers’ tax liability, including a standard deduction, itemized deduction, income tax credit, child and dependent care credit, and college savings tax deduction.

With a financial advisor, one can find suitable tax deductions and adjust one’s financial goals. One can find the right advisor with sufficient knowledge by vetting the tax benefits offered. 

West Virginia State Income Tax Rates and Tax Brackets

Here is a detailed list of West Virginia income taxes and tax brackets.

Single Filers

West Virginia Taxable IncomeTax Rate
0$ – $9,9993.00%
$10,000 – $24,9994.00%
$25,000 – $39,9994.50%
$40,000 – $59,9996.00%
$60,000+6.50%

Married Filing Tax Jointly

West Virginia Taxable IncomeTax Rate
0$ – $9,9993.00%
$10,000 – $24,9994.00%
$25,000 – $39,9994.50%
$40,000 – $59,9996.00%
$60,000+6.50%

Married, Filing Tax Separately

West Virginia Taxable IncomeTax Rate
0$ – $9,9993.00%
$10,000 – $24,9994.00%
$25,000 – $39,9994.50%
$40,000 – $59,9996.00%
$60,000+6.50%

Head of the Household

West Virginia Taxable IncomeTax Rate
0$ – $9,9993.00%
$10,000 – $24,9994.00%
$25,000 – $39,9994.50%
$40,000 – $59,9996.00%
$60,000+6.50%

What is West Virginia’s Standard Deduction?

Standard deductions reduce taxpayers’ taxable income by a fixed amount set by the government. However, it’s important to note that the amount may vary depending on your filing status. Despite this, the idea remains the same: the government provides a fixed deduction.

It allows taxpayers to deduct expenses even if they do not qualify for itemized deductions. Additionally, it provides some relief from maintaining records and receipts of costs in the event of an IRS audit.

West Virginia does not offer any standard deductions for its taxpayers. There are no standard or itemized deductions in the state. However, the new budget has temporarily increased its standard deduction policy. Joint filers in West Virginia can benefit up to $17,000; the standard deduction is up to $8500 for single filers. One can benefit from these standard deductions if one pays taxes on time.  

Your taxable income is different from the total income you earn. Understanding how much tax you must pay and what certain deductions you can benefit from is essential. You may need a financial expert to discuss your options before paying taxes. 

Your marital status, income bracket, location, and how you file for taxes play a part in finding the tax amount. Some states in the US do not have state income tax. But West Virginia has a state income tax rate between 3 to 6.50%. You can deduct most taxes by applying jointly and filing in the best way to take the maximum benefit of these deductions. 

Your financial advisor can also help you make the right financial decisions and maximize your tax benefits. Despite local income tax imposed by the state, the residents also have to pay federal income tax. It is, therefore, imperative to calculate in a precise manner.

Do I Have to Pay West Virginia State Income Tax?

All taxpayers in West Virginia must pay both federal and state income taxes. Along with these, certain local taxes are imposed by local authorities that one must pay. All residents of West Virginia whose income is received in the state must pay these taxes. Certain professions and age groups are exempted, but others must ensure they pay taxes on time. 

How to Pay West Virginia State Income Tax?

One can pay taxes in West Virginia both online and offline. Once payment is complete, the credit can be used to file income tax returns. Timely payment of taxes helps to get the most benefits and adequate returns. One can also visit the official sites for state income taxes and learn the step-by-step procedure to file taxes. With new technology and approaches, one can also ask their attorney to guide the right way to file taxes to ensure they declare all necessary information and avoid fines.

Am I a Resident for West Virginia Income Tax Purposes?

West Virginia Residents have no minimum days stay compulsion—anyone who can prove that they remain in West Virginia or work can become a resident. 

Here are the three steps you need to follow to establish residency in West Virginia:

  • Get a Permanent Address 

Your permanent address in West Virginia can include any property, including your home or a rental apartment. You can provide a receipt if you have lived there for at least 30 consecutive days. You don’t have to live there full-time when you gain residency and can travel whenever you want.

  • Get a Nevada Driver’s License 

You can provide proof of residency and identification required to apply for a West Virginia driver’s license. You must bring two documents that prove your residence. These include a government-issued ID card, proof of your social security number, and your former state’s driver’s license when going to the DMV.

  • Register Your Vehicle in Nevada 

You must register your vehicle there to prove your residency in a state. Your vehicle can only be registered if you have proof of insurance. 

Resident status rules

A resident of Nevada resides in West Virginia for at least six months. Other than that, the person must intend to stay in West Virginia. One can own a property or a job in the state to become a resident. 

Part-year Resident Status Rules

If you stay in West Virginia for six or fewer months, you are a part-time resident. Residents who arrive in the state to work on short-term projects have a specific stay schedule. 

Nonresident Status Rules

A person who does not stay in West Virginia is a state nonresident. These residents are exempt from paying taxes in the state. 

Where is my West Virginia State Income Tax Refund?

To quickly check the status of your refund, you must have your social security number and return amount. This link leads you to the Comptroller of West Virginia’s website, and you can also contact the free number to get an update about refund inquiries. Refunds usually take ten days to arrive, so wait ten days before filing a complaint. 

Also, several things can cause a West Virginia refund delay. These things include:

  • Your department may request more information if the information on your return needs to be verified.
  • Errors in your tax return or other adjustments.
  • Your return was filed using more than one form type.
  • There needs to be data in your return, or it needs to be completed.

Where is my West Virginia State Income Tax Refund?

You must have your social security number and refund amount to check the status of your refund promptly. This link leads you to the Comptroller of West Virginia’s website, and you can also contact the free number to get an update about refund inquiries. Refunds usually take ten days to arrive, so wait ten days before filing a complaint. 

Also, several things can cause a West Virginia refund delay. These things include:

  • Your department may request more information if the information on your return needs to be verified.
  • Errors in your tax return or other adjustments.
  • Your return was filed using more than one form type.
  • There needs to be data in your return, or it needs to be completed.

why did my West Virginia State Income Tax Increase

West Virginia state income taxes can increase for a variety of reasons. It can raise your income tax amount if you no longer qualify for some deductibles or credits during tax filings. In addition to your income increasing or your divorce, these factors also affect your income tax. You should know how to take advantage of tax breaks, deductibles, and credits to get the maximum refund when filing taxes.

West Virginia Sales Tax

West Virginia’s state sales tax rate is 6.00 percent, the municipal sales tax rate is 1.00 percent, and the total state and local sales tax rate is 6.55 percent. A government agency, some nonprofit organizations, and merchants purchasing goods to resell are exempt from paying sales tax under West Virginia law. The seller must collect a resale certificate from the buyer for each exempt transaction.

Several services, including newspapers, prescription medications, textbooks, and motor vehicles, are excluded from sales tax. Furthermore, childcare services, fitness clubs, and personal services (such as hairstyling and massages) are exempt from sales tax.

Capital Gains Tax

Taxes on capital gains in Virginia are the same as those on income, at a maximum of 5.75%.

West Virginia Property Tax

If you consider buying a home, West Virginia offers some of the country’s lowest property taxes. West Virginia residents pay just $785 in property taxes each year. That’s the third-lowest median property tax payment in the country.

While West Virginia’s average home value is relatively low, the state’s property tax rate is slightly higher. The state has the tenth lowest average effective property tax rate in the US, at 0.5%..

All the essential information about getting a mortgage in West Virginia can be found on one convenient page in our West Virginia mortgage guide, making the process easier. You can also find information about refinancing a property in the state.

West Virginia Estate Tax

West Virginia does not have an estate tax. The state had an estate tax based on the federal estate tax until 2005, but it has since been phased out. Estates and inheritances are no longer taxed at the state level in West Virginia, but the federal estate tax still applies.

Corporate income tax

The flat rate of corporate taxes is 6.5% in West Virginia.

Five things to Know About West Virginia Income Tax

Here are five interesting facts about state taxes in West Virginia:

  • An income tax is imposed on West Virginia residents from 3 percent to 6.5 percent.
  • In 1861, West Virginia seceded from Virginia to join the Union and became a state.
  • Since 2016, West Virginia has nearly doubled its cigarette tax, which now stands at $1.20 for a pack of 20 cigarettes, which is still below average.
  • All alcohol sold in West Virginia is subject to markups and an excise tax that varies depending on the type of liquor. These taxes add up to significant revenue for the state.
  • There are just $785 in property taxes paid by the average homeowner in West Virginia each year.

Conclusion

Since West Virginia’s state income tax brackets are less than 6%, county income taxes can be set. Since the lowest rate in the state is 3%, workers with taxable income should be required to pay 6.50%. 

West Virginia provides many tax deductions and credits to reduce its taxpayers’ tax liability, including standard deductions, itemized deductions, income tax credits, child and dependent care credits, and college savings tax deductions.

With a financial advisor, one can find suitable tax deductions and adjust their financial goals. One can find the right advisor with sufficient knowledge by vetting the tax benefits offered. A financial expert can also guide you through the right financial decisions and help you achieve maximum benefit on your tax returns. Despite income tax imposed by the state, the residents do have to pay federal income tax. Hence, a precise measure of calculation is essential.

FAQs

Is West Virginia a high-tax state?

The answer to these questions is mostly no. The state’s sales tax is relatively low, and it has one of the lowest property states in the country. Also, as you move towards old age, your tax is minimized. The income tax for most of the population revolves around 3% to 6.50%. West Virginia is considered a primarily low-property tax state. The state ranks among the most tax-friendly states.

Is West Virginia a tax-friendly state?

Yes, West Virginia is a tax-friendly state. The state ranks among the most tax-friendly states in the country. The state’s sales tax is relatively low, and it has one of the lowest property tax states in the country. Also, as you move towards old age, your tax is minimized. The income tax for most of the population revolves around 3% to 6.50%. West Virginia is considered a primarily low-tax state.

Is West Virginia a good place to live for taxes?

Yes, West Virginia is a great place to live, as the property taxes are affordable. The cost of living and other benefits also ensure consumer-friendly conditions for living. The modest property values and reasonable taxes attract many residents to live in the state. West Virginia is considered a primarily low-property tax state.

How much of my paycheck goes to taxes in West Virginia?

You must pay about 3% to 6.50% of your taxable income as taxes in West Virginia. The state also has property taxes, estate taxes, and capital gains taxes in addition to income tax. The federal and local taxes are also a compulsion for West Virginia residents. All these taxes add up to over 13 % of the total taxable income. However, your taxes also depend on the tax brackets you fall under.

Is West Virginia tax income earned in another state?

West Virginia residents must declare their income earned in another state. The ones who failed to declare their income from other states had to pay taxes in West Virginia.

Does the state of West Virginia tax social security income?

No, West Virginia does not tax social security income. Before 2020, the state used to tax social security income. However, with recent developments and updates in government policies, the state does not charge any social security income tax. One can subtract the social security benefit taxed at the federal level and reduce the amount from your state income tax returns.

Can West Virginia state income tax go up?

West Virginia state income tax percentage depends on the government. It might grow with an increase in inflation. The state is one of the most tax-friendly states; increased taxes can affect many people who enjoy certain benefits with minimum taxes.

Do seniors have to pay state income tax in West Virginia?

Yes, seniors do have to pay taxes in the state. However, it has become quite tax-friendly for its senior residents. The state exempts all social security income from taxes and deductions up to $12,000 for retirees. There are many other deductions and benefits for senior members of the society.

What are West Virginia state income taxes for LLCs?

West Virginia has a minimum rate of corporate taxes for LLCs. Usually, the flat rate of corporate taxes is 6.5%. The company must pay the tax before the end of the fiscal year.

Was this helpful?

Did you like the post or would you like to give some feedback? Let us know your opinion by clicking one of the buttons below!

👍👎

Author

Picture of Prem Kishan

Prem Kishan

A seasoned Product Manager who thrives on making a meaningful impact within the organization, Prem is deeply passionate about tackling intricate problems using cutting-edge technology and is a specialist in tax content.

Editor

This page is purely informational. Beem does not provide financial, legal or accounting advice. This article has been prepared for informational purposes only. It is not intended to provide financial, legal or accounting advice and should not be relied on for the same. Please consult your own financial, legal and accounting advisors before engaging in any transactions.

Related Posts

game-show
Taxes on Game Show Winnings, Lottery and Online Gaming
Winning at least $600 is likely to result in a 1099-MISC tax form being sent by the awarding entity to both the winner and the IRS. If no form is received, the winner is still obligated to report the winnings value.
Cheatham Tax Deadline Extension
Cheatham Tax Deadline Extension [2024]
The tax extension applies to individuals and businesses in Cheatham county and other affected areas impacted by the severe storms and tornadoes.
Davidson Tax Deadline Extension
Davidson Tax Deadline Extension [2024]
The tax deadline extension in Davidson County, Tennessee, relieves businesses and individuals affected by the severe weather. Here are the key details that you must know before starting your tax filing process in Davidson County.
Washington Tax Deadline Extension
Washington Tax Deadline Extension
Understanding the new deadlines and the procedure for applying for extensions is crucial to complying with the regulations and avoiding any penalties. Read on for all the details.
Tennessee Tax Extension Deadline
Tennessee Tax Extension Deadline 
Tennessee taxpayers can utilize various methods to fulfill their state tax obligations. Read on for all the details.
Michigan Tax Extension Deadline
Michigan Tax Extension Deadline 
In 2023, severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding led to federal disaster declarations in several Michigan counties. These declarations allowed affected taxpayers extended deadlines to file and pay their taxes, providing critical relief as they work towards recovery. Read on for more information.
Features
Essentials

Get up to $1,000 for emergencies

Send money to anyone in the US

Ger personalized financial insights

Monitor and grow credit score

Save up to 40% on car insurance

Get up to $1,000 for loss of income

Insure up to $1 Million

Coming Soon

File federal and state taxes at low cost

Quick estimate of your tax returns

Get up to $1,000 for emergencies

Send money to anyone in the US

Save big on auto insurance - compare quotes now!

Zip Code:
Zip Code: